

# 2015 Rice Street - St. Paul, MN 55113 651-488-0261 Fax 651-488-0265

# Minnesota Dairy Promotion Council Sheraton West Des Moines, West Des Moines, IA April 7, 2021 Minutes

## **Members Present:**

*In-Person*: Mindi Arendt, Dan Grunhovd, Ken Herbranson, Eric Hoese, Margaret Johnson, Keith Knutson, Charles Krause, Sarah Kuechle, Barb Liebenstein, Kate McAndrews, Dave Schwartz, Kristine Spadgenske, Suzanne Vold, Rita Young

*Virtual*: Megan Herberg, Karen Kasper, Doug Popp, Kathy Skiba, Eric Sonnek

Members Absent: Megan Landkammer, Jeff Pagel, Jane Remiger

## **New Board Nominees Present:**

Virtual: Joe Engelmeyer, Shirley Hulinsky

## **Others Present:**

*In-Person*: 2020 retirees: Kevin Buss, Chris Sukalski; National Dairy Board: deb Vander Kooi; Midwest Dairy Staff: Brenda Goldman, Shannon Watrin

Virtual: Midwest Dairy Staff: Wendy Meck

#### 1. Call to Order

Meeting was called to order at 12:58 p.m. by Chair Charles Krause.

#### 2. Invocation

Ken Herbranson provided the invocation.

## 3. Roll Call

Roll call was taken by Acting Secretary Rita Young, and she announced the presence of a quorum.

#### 4. Agenda

Keith Knutson moved, Dave Schwartz seconded to approve the agenda. Motion Carried.

#### 5. Minutes

Eric Hoese moved, Margaret Johnson seconded to approve the minutes of December 7, 2020. Motion Carried.

Kristine Spadgenske moved, Eric Hoese seconded to approve the minutes of November 10, 2020. Motion Carried.

# 6. 2020 Audit Report

Wendy Meck reviewed the 2020 Audit Report.

Ken Herbranson moved, Suzanne Vold seconded to approve the Minnesota Dairy Promotion Council 2020 Audit Report as presented. Motion Carried.

# 7. Board Reorganization

# Introduction of New Board Members

Charles Krause asked the new Minnesota Dairy Promotion Council Board members to introduce themselves.

- Joe Engelmeyer, District 8
- Shirley Hulinsky, District 4

## Seat Board Nominees

Keith Knutson moved, Doug Popp seconded to seat the elected directors from all 18 districts. Motion Carried.

#### **Election Procedures Review**

Brenda Goldman reviewed the virtual and in-person election procedures.

#### Appoint Tellers

Shannon Watrin, Brenda Goldman and deb Vander Kooi were appointed as tellers.

#### **Board Reorganization**

In accordance with the election procedures, the board was reorganized.

Ken Herbranson moved, Doug Popp seconded to elect Charles Krause as the MDPC Chair. Motion Carried.

Dave Schwartz moved, Margaret Johnson seconded to elect Rita Young as the MDPC Vice Chair. Motion Carried.

Suzanne Vold moved, Barb Liebenstein seconded to elect Karen Kasper as the MDPC Secretary. Motion Carried.

Eric Hoese moved, Kate McAndrews seconded to elect Margaret Johnson as the MDPC Treasurer. Motion Carried.

Dave Schwartz moved, Mindi Arendt seconded to elect Sarah Kuechle as the MPDC Executive Committee Member At-Large. Motion Carried.

#### 8. Adjourn

Charles Krause declared the meeting adjourned at 1:54 p.m. Motion Carried.

Respectfully Submitted,

Rita Young Acting Secretary Charles Krause Chair